Single Blog Title

This is a single blog caption

19 October 2020: Privatisation & public services – A conversation with current and former UN Special Rapporteurs

Join us for an online event “Enough is enough: Privatisation & public services: A conversation with current and former UN Special Rapporteurs” on 19th October at 8:00 AM EDT, 12 PM UTC, 2 PM CEST and 8 PM PHST.

After decades of de-regulation and privatization policies around the world, private actors are playing increasing role in many sectors, from education and health, to water, food and housing. However, concerns that privatized systems are gravely threatening the realization of human rights are rising. In the last years, dozens of human rights experts and bodies have rung the alarm bell, including four Special Rapporteurs who wrote reports on the topic. The issue is becoming all the more critical in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic, high and rising inequalities, and the ecological emergency.

This event will for the first time bring together a range of current and former UN Special Rapporteurs who will explore how human rights can serve to build a joint analysis of privatization, and bring support to resilient, rights-aligned, gender inclusive public services and innovative approaches to realize the common good in a changing world.

To register, please click here

(Visited 31 times, 1 visits today)
Sub Menu
Archive
Back to top